http://www.artetpouvoir.ca/googlec288d2ccfe7de1f3.html
All text and images are from the net
Go to content

Main menu:

2017 > June

Claude Verlinde est né un 24 juin



«Harlequin in the  box»  oil on panel

Claude Verlinde is a French artist, born in 1927, in Paris, of Flemish parents.

He is internationally recognized as a painter  in the register of fantasy, imagination, chimerical realism,  magic realism. His work shows an artistic lineage from Bruegel and Bosch to the surrealist and contemporary ''magic realists''.

His paintings are populated by hybrid creatures, women who transform into branches or roots, branches that become tentacles, half-animal beings evoking dreams and / or nightmares. These subjects which intrigue, question and sometimes frankly make people  smile, are treated with a rigorous technique and a meticulousness that recall the work of the old masters. His attention to detail, its appeal for grotesque or caricatured figures remind us of Flemish painters.

Close to the Renaissance, Verlinde has preserved the know-how of the ancients:  the smooth and meticulous execution, the oil, the canvas mounted on wood. In almost all of his paintings great importance is given to the textile material, such as veils, sheets, wedding dresses, knots.

Although Claude Verlinde has exhibited in France,  Brussels, the United States, Japan. and Montreal, his work, is shunned by the French museums.

Verlinde attracts a public that is definitely not Van Gogh, Picasso or the impressionists. In public sales, his paintings will fetch  prices of 6, 15 or 112 thousand euros. All this is far from approaching the astronomical sums reached by the stars of Chrystie's.

He is now recognized as a master of Visionary Art, an art based on a fusion of images and symbols. His Flemish origin may explain why his paintings reveal  the Flemish mystics and the Renaissance.


Other canvases by the artist

  
Verlinde on You Tube

To contact me:
Last update: April 11  2018

Web designer: Helene Leclerc

Back to content | Back to main menu

«Toutes les reproductions et textes sont tirés du Net»
Aller au contenu

Menu principal :

2017 > Juin

Claude Verlinde est né un 24 juin



La Nuit

Claude Verlinde est un artiste français, né en 1927, à Paris, de parents flamands.

Il est internationalement reconnu en tant qu’artiste peignant dans le registre du fantastique, de l'imaginaire; d'un réalisme chimérique, parfois appelé «réalisme magique», et son travail nous ramène à la lignée des Bruegel et Bosch ainsi qu'aux réalistes surréalistes et magiques contemporains.

Ses tableaux sont peuplés de créatures hybrides, de femmes qui se transforment en branches ou en racines, branches qui se font tentacules, êtres mi-hommes mi-animaux qui évoquent le rêve et/ou le cauchemar. Ces sujets qui intriguent ─ questionnent et font quelques fois franchement sourire ─ sont traités d'une technique rigoureuse et une minutie qui rappellent le travail des maîtres anciens. Son souci du détail;  son attrait pour les figures grotesques ou caricaturées nous rappellent les peintres flamands.  

Proche de la Renaissance,  il a conservé le savoir-faire des anciens : l’exécution lisse et minutieuse, l’huile, la toile marouflée sur bois. Dans presque la totalité de ses toiles une grande importance est donnée à la matière textile, tels que voiles, draps, robes de mariée, nœuds.

L'oeuvre de Claude Verlinde, boudée par les musées français, a exposé en France, en Belgique, aux États-Unis, au Japon.

Verlinde attire un publique qui n'est définitivement pas celui des Van Gogh, Picasso et Impressionnistes. En ventes publiques, ses oeuvres se vendent six, quinze, cent douze  milles euros.  Tout ça est  loin d'approcher les 112 millions commandés par les vedettes de chez Christie's.

Il est aujourd'hui reconnu comme un maître de l'Art Visionnaire, art basé sur un fusionnement d'images et de symboles. Son origine flamande explique peut-être qu'une partie de sa peinture, des mystiques flamands et de la Renaissance.

Autres toiles de l'artiste

Verlinde sur You Tube





Pour me contacter:
Dernière mise à jour:
Le 22 Septembre 2017
Conceptrice: Hélène Leclerc
Retourner au contenu | Retourner au menu