http://www.artetpouvoir.ca/googlec288d2ccfe7de1f3.html
All text and images are from the net
Go to content

Main menu:

2017 > May

Mary  Cassatt was born on may 22

The  Child's Bath - 1893

Mary  Stevenson Cassat (1844–1926) ─ an American painter and printmaker ─  was born,  in Allegheny City, Pennsylvania, where she enrolled at the Pennsylvania Academy  of the Fine Arts at age 16.

In  1866, she moved to Paris, which was to be her home for the rest of her life.  She  studied and painted in relative obscurity until 1868, when one of her  portraits was selected at the prestigious Paris Salon, an annual exhibition run  by the French government.

In  1870, the outbreak of the Franco-Prussian War, forced Mary to return home.   There, she was contacted by the archbishop of Pittsburgh who wanted to  commission her to paint copies of two works by the Italian master Correggio.  Cassatt left immediately for Europe, where the originals were, on display in  Parma, Italy. With the money she earned from the commission, she was able to  resume her career in Europe.

In  1877, she befriended many Impressionist painters, and exhibited her works  alongside theirs. She is the only American artist to accomplish such a feat. She   was greatly influenced by  Claude Monet, Berthe Morisot, and especially Edgar  Degas. She was one of the leading impressionists artists of the latter part of  the 1800s.
Cassatt  created images with a particular emphasis on the intimate bonds between mothers  and child. Her portrayals of the human figures and their interactions were  markedly different from her male counterparts. In 1893, she painted  The Child's Bath which, with its then unorthodox  composition, is considered one of her masterworks.

Cassatt  utilized new techniques like cropped figures, bold outlines, and 2-D  perspective, most likely derived from her passion for Japanese woodblock prints  that was sparked after she saw Japanese woodcuts at the Beaux-Arts Academy in  Paris during an exhibition.

Cassatt  was a feminist from a young age. She was an activist and supported women’s  suffrage. In 1915, eighteen of her works were shown in an exhibition supporting  the movement organised by Louisine Havemeyer, a stalwart, active feminist.

After  1910, her increasingly poor eyesight, the result of her diabetes, virtually put  an end to her serious painting. On June 14,1926 Mary died at Château de  Beaufresne, near Paris,

On YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Mw_FW3-ty0                    
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX4NouJz6_E                                                                           

Paintings of Mary Cassatt



To contact me:
Last update: April 11  2018

Web designer: Helene Leclerc

Back to content | Back to main menu

«Toutes les reproductions et textes sont tirés du Net»
Aller au contenu

Menu principal :

2017 > Mai

Mary Cassatt est née un 22 mai



Le  Bain de l'Enfant - 1893

Mary Stevenson Cassatt (1844-1926) ─  peintre et graveuse américaine ─ est née, dans la ville d'Allegheny, en  Pennsylvanie. Elle s'inscrit à l'Académie des beaux-arts de Pennsylvanie à l'âge  de 16 ans.

En 1866, elle transhume vers Paris, qui  sera sa demeure pour le reste de sa vie. Elle étudie et peint dans un anonymat  relatif jusqu'en 1868, lorsqu'un de ses portraits est sélectionné au prestigieux  Salon de Paris, une exposition annuelle dirigée par le gouvernement  français.

En 1870, le déclenchement de la guerre  franco-prussienne oblige Mary à rentrer chez elle. Elle est alors contactée par  l'archevêque de Pittsburgh qui veut lui commander des copies de deux œuvres du  maître italien Correggio. Cassatt part  aussitôt pour l'Europe, où les originaux  sont exposés à Parme, en Italie. Avec l'argent que lui rapporte cette commande,  elle peut reprendre sa carrière en Europe.

En 1877, Mary elle se lie d'amitié avec  de nombreux peintres impressionnistes. Elle sera la seule artiste américaine à  partager leur cimaises. Elle est fortement influencée par Claude Monet, Berthe  Morisot, et surtout Edgar Degas. Elle est l'une des principales artistes du  mouvement impressionniste de la fin des années 1800.

Cassatt a créé des images qui traduisent  de façon éloquente les liens intimes qui unissent mère et enfant. Ces  représentations se révèleront nettement différentes de celles de ses homologues  masculins. En 1893, elle peint Le  Bain de l'enfant qui, en dépit de sa composition peu orthodoxe, est  considérée comme l'une de ses œuvres majeures.

Cassatt utilise de nouvelles techniques  telles que les figures coupées, les contours gras et une perspective très  probablement dérivée de sa passion pour les gravures sur bois  japonaises.
Dès son plus jeune âge, Mary sera une  féministe. Elle militera en faveur des  suffragettes. En 1915, elle prête  dix-huit de ses œuvres pour une  exposition soutenant le mouvement organisé par  Louisine Havemeyer, une ardente activiste féministe.

Après 1910, sa vision ─ devenue de plus  en plus mauvaise suite à son diabète ─ met pratiquement fin à sa peinture. Le 14  juin 1926, Mary meurt au Château de Beaufresne, près de Paris.

Sur YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guxLpVICBjg&list=PLE3E0B87FB1D9A3D6&index=26                                                  Portrait de
                                                                                                                               Mary Stevenson Cassatt

Toiles de Mary Cassatt

 



Dernière mise à jour:
Le 25 octobre 2017
Conceptrice: Hélène Leclerc
Retourner au contenu | Retourner au menu