http://www.artetpouvoir.ca/googlec288d2ccfe7de1f3.html
All text and images are from the net
Go to content

Main menu:

2017 > April




Max Ernst was born on april the first




''Virgin, chastising the child Jesus before three witnesses''



M
ax Ernst (1891-1976) a prolific artist of German origin, was a painter, a sculptor, a graphic artist and a poet. As a painter, Ernst was known for his inclination to confuse his images with the help of disruptive elements, and for  attacking the conventions and traditions of Art.

His ''Virgin, chastising  the child Jesus before three witnesses''  (1926), an oil on canvas, of figurative nature and surrealist spirit, counts among his most admired works. This scene of the Virgin spanking her son, proceeds from a childhood memory. At the age of seven, young Max ran away. When he was brought back home, the boy had to deal with his angry father. The painting is presented as one of the best expressions of anti-clericalism or anti-Catholicism of the Surrealists.

In 1909, Ernst visited insane asylums. He was fascinated by the drawings of the patients he found there. This Art of the mentally ill, was for Ernst a means of accessing the  primordial emotion and unfettered creativity. He was one of the first artists to apply  Sigmund Freud's investigative theories of the deep psyche, in order to explore the source of creativity.

Ernst formulated new ways of creating works to express the modern condition of Art. In 1925 he invented the technique of "frottage" which allows a pencil to move on a sheet placed on a surface with different materials. He also imagines the technique of "grattages''  which consists of scratching the painting of a canvas for the same purpose. He also explores the technique of decalcomania which consists of pressing paint between two surfaces
.
In 1934, Ernst began to sculpt and spent some time in the studio of Alberto Giacometti.

In September 1941, the arrival of Ernst in America, accompanied by other painters of the European avant-garde, electrified a whole generation of American artists. These artists from across the Atlantic helped develop abstract expressionism. Their influence was great on Americans such as Jackson Pollock, Mark Rothko and Willem de Kooning.
It was in 1936, with the publication of his book ''Beyond Painting'', that Ernst finally found financial ease.

Max Ernst died in 1976.


Max Ernst died in 1976.



On YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFOJ4aUGU6g
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6a6cw3Lgw94
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6ooYPP61lw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfqDoM218W0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-H7_uc-GJc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQJD7inost4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHdU4JfY-bU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0oJywJ8LLac


Your participation in our survey  would be very useful and appreciated


Back

To contact me:
Last update: April 11  2018

Web designer: Helene Leclerc

Back to content | Back to main menu

«Toutes les reproductions et textes sont tirés du Net»
Aller au contenu

Menu principal :

2017 > Janvier 2017 > Avril


English
Max Ernst naît un premier avril



Vierge corrigeant l’enfant Jésus devant trois témoins (1926),


M
ax Ernst (1891-1976)  artiste prolifique, d'origine allemande,  fut peintre, sculpteur, graphiste et poète.  Peintre réputé pour son refus de la cohérence et volontiers enclin à brouiller ses images à l’aide d’éléments  perturbateurs, Ernst attaque les conventions et les traditions de l'Art.

Sa Vierge corrigeant l’enfant Jésus devant trois témoins (1926), une huile sur toile   de nature figurative et d’esprit surréaliste, compte parmi ses travaux les plus admirés.  Cette scène de la Vierge donnant la fessée à son fils,  procède d’un souvenir d’enfance.  À  l'âge de sept ans, le jeune Max aurait fait une fugue.  Ramené au bercail, le gamin dut essuyer la colère de son père. Le tableau est présenté comme l’une des meilleures expressions de l’anticléricalisme ou de l’anticatholicisme des surréalistes.

En 1909,  Ernst visite des asiles d'aliénés, fasciné par les dessins des patients qu'il y trouve.  Cet Art de malades mentaux était pour Ernst un moyen d'accéder à l'émotion primordiale et à la créativité sans entraves.  Il fut l'un des premiers artistes à appliquer les théories d'enquête de Sigmund Freud sur la psyché profonde afin d'explorer la source de la créativité.

Ernst a formulé de nouveaux moyens de créer des œuvres  pour exprimer la condition moderne de l'Art. En 1925 Il invente la technique du «frottage» qui laisse une mine de crayon se déplacer sur une feuille posée sur une surface aux matières différentes.  Il imagine aussi la technique du «grattage» qui consiste à gratter la peinture d'une toile dans le même but. Il explore aussi la technique de la décalcomanie qui consiste à presser de la peinture entre deux surfaces.


En 1934, Ernst se met à la sculpture et passe quelques temps dans l'atelier d'Alberto Giacometti.

En septembre 1941, l'arrivée de Ernst en Amérique, accompagné d'autres peintres de l'avant-garde européenne,  électrifie toute une génération d'artistes américains.  Les artistes d'outre-Atlantique aidèrent au développement de l'expressionnisme abstrait. Leur influence fut grande sur Jackson Pollock, Mark Rothko et Willem de Kooning.  
C'est en 1936, avec la publication de son livre  Au-delà de la peinture,  que Ernst trouve finalement l'aisance financière.
Max Ernst meurt en 1976.


Max Ernst (1891-1976)



Sur YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFOJ4aUGU6g
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6a6cw3Lgw94
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6ooYPP61lw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfqDoM218W0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-H7_uc-GJc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQJD7inost4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHdU4JfY-bU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0oJywJ8LLac

Votre participation à notre sondage  serait très appréciée et d'une grande utilité


Retour




Dernière mise à jour:
Le 25 octobre 2017
Conceptrice: Hélène Leclerc
Retourner au contenu | Retourner au menu