http://www.artetpouvoir.ca/googlec288d2ccfe7de1f3.html
All text and images are from the net
Go to content

Main menu:

2017 > April

Français



Thomas Hart Benton was born on April 15




The wreck of the ole '97 train - l'accident de la vieille '97 - 1943


T
homas Hart Benton, (1889 -1975) born in Neosho, Missouri, was an American painter and muralist. Along with Grant Wood and John Steuart Curry, he was at the forefront of the Regionalist art movement.

Thomas Hart Benton's paintings are famous for showing ordinary people doing common things. He drew and painted portraits, landscapes, and scenes of people at work in farms, factories, and busy cities. His best-known works are public murals, or scenes on the inside walls of buildings. Benton’s murals are lively records of life in America from pioneer times onward.


In 1904, Benton  studied for one year at the Art Institute of Chicago. In 1908, wanting to study art in Europe, he moved to Paris. From about 1912 to 1935, he lived and worked in New York City.

In 1924, Benton came back to Missouri to visit his father who was very sick. The visit changed his life. His interests became clearer. He took pride in his Midwestern roots and began painting ordinary Americans not often shown in art. He made drawing trips that took him across America. He visited steel mills, coal mines, and logging camps. He watched workers picking cotton in the South.

Observing everything he could about ordinary American life, Benton became the leader of a movement in American art called  regionalism. He based his art on personal observation. Even showing poor American peoples, from rural and urban areas. He called attention to problems that he thought all Americans should know about.
His style of painting made common people into heroes. He gave them big bodies with lots of muscles and painted them using deep, rich colors.

Not everyone appreciated Benton's work. Some people thought he was too outspoken about politics. Critics attacked his work for depicting such topics as slavery, the Missouri outlaw Jesse James or the Ku Klux Klan members in full regalia.
Many Americans, however, truly admired Benton’s work and ideas. Various organizations hired him to create public art. One of his most famous murals is A Social History of Missouri. It is in the state capitol in Jefferson City, Missouri.

During World War I, Benton served in the U.S. Navy. He was directed to make drawings and illustrations of shipyard work and life. Benton's art was also used, as propaganda, by the American government. He created a series titled The Years of Peril, which portrayed the threat to American ideals by fascism and Nazism. The prints were widely distributed.

Following the war, Regionalism fell from favor, eclipsed by the rise of Abstract Expressionism.  In September of 1935, Benton moved to Kansas City, Missouri, where he lived and worked in his studio until his death on January 19, 1975.



Thomas Hart Benton, (1889 -1975)



On You Tube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezW0SspE9f4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibbNVNvrlhs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1YLogEztHM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPIjoXVFfx8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iylpEXX1lHM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiudZszSPLQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5O4-hcakpc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDYGZb7Y1j0

Paintings by Thomas Hart Benton
https://qc.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=AwrBTvthi_NYbCwAlQjTGAx.;_ylu=X3oDMTByMjB0aG5zBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzYw--?p=Thomas+Hart+Benton&fr=yfp-t


Your participation in our survey  would be very useful and appreciated


Back

To contact me:
Last update: April 11  2018

Web designer: Helene Leclerc

Back to content | Back to main menu

«Toutes les reproductions et textes sont tirés du Net»
Aller au contenu

Menu principal :

2017 > Avril

English

Thomas Hart Benton est né un 15 avril





Retour après le désastre - Flood disaster - 1951

Thomas Hart Benton, (1889 -1975) naît à Neosho, au Missouri. il est peintre et muraliste.  Avec Grant Wood et John Steuart Curry, il était à l'avant-garde du mouvement d'art régionaliste américain.

Les peintures de Thomas Hart Benton représentent des gens ordinaires dans des scènes de tous les jours. Benton a dessiné et peint des portraits, des paysages et des scènes de personnes travaillant sur la ferme, dans les usines et peuplant des villes actives. Ses œuvres les plus connues sont les peintures murales qui traduisent la vie américaine depuis les temps de pionnier.

En 1904, Benton étudie pendant un an à l'Art Institute de Chicago. En 1908, désirant étudier l'art en Europe, il déménagea à Paris. De 1912 à 1935, il vit et travaille à New York.

En 1924, Benton revient au Missouri pour rendre visite à son père qui est malade. Cette visite change sa vie. Il reconnaît ses racines du Midwest et commence à peindre des scènes qu'on ne retrouve pas souvent dans l'Art. Il voyage à travers l'Amérique. Il visite des aciéries, des mines de charbon et des camps d'exploitation forestière. Il dessine des travailleurs qui ramassent le coton dans le Sud.

En observant ainsi la vie américaine de tous les jours, Benton devient le chef d'un mouvement  américain appelé régionalisme. C'est un art basé sur l'observation d'américains pauvres, des zones rurales et urbaines. Il appelle l'attention sur les problèmes qui, croit il devraient solliciter l'intérêt de tous le  peuple  Américain. Son style de peinture transforme les gens communs en héros. Il leur donne de gros corps farcis de muscles en utilisant des couleurs profondes et riches.

Tout le monde n'apprécie pas le travail de Benton. Certains pensent que ses commentaires politiques un peu trop franc. Les critiques attaquent son travail parce que celui-ci  décrit des sujets tels que l'esclavage, le hors-la-loi du Missouri Jesse James ou les membres de Ku Klux Klan en plein décorum.

Beaucoup d'Américains, cependant, ont vraiment admiré son travail et ses idées. Diverses organisations lui commandent des murales . L'une de ses murales les plus connues est «A Social History of Missouri» créée  dans la capitale de l'état, à Jefferson City, dans le Missouri.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, Benton sert dans la marine américaine. Il est chargé de faire des illustrations montrant la vie dans un chantier naval. L'art de Benton est  aussi utilisé comme propagande, par le gouvernement américain. Il crée une série intitulée «The Years of Peril», qui représente la menace du nazisme pour les idéaux américains.

Après la guerre, le régionalisme tombe en défaveur, éclipsé par la montée de l'expressionnisme abstrait. En septembre 1935, Benton déménagea à Kansas City, dans le Missouri, où il vit et travaille dans son studio jusqu'à sa mort le 19 janvier 1975.

Sur You Tube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezW0SspE9f4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibbNVNvrlhs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1YLogEztHM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPIjoXVFfx8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iylpEXX1lHM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiudZszSPLQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5O4-hcakpc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDYGZb7Y1j0



Thomas Hart Benton, (1889 -1975)









Toiles de Thomas Hart Benton
https://qc.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=AwrBTvthi_NYbCwAlQjTGAx.;_ylu=X3oDMTByMjB0aG5zBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzYw--?p=Thomas+Hart+Benton&fr=yfp-t

Votre participation à notre sondage  serait très appréciée et d'une grande utilité


Retour


Pour me contacter:
Dernière mise à jour:
Le 22 Septembre 2017
Conceptrice: Hélène Leclerc
Retourner au contenu | Retourner au menu